How do you use Social Media for your business? Do you know whether to use FB or Twitter? Instagram or Pinterest? How do you leverage a growing social presence? Having trouble with "personal-social" networking? Question about hashtags? Share your best social media strategies and ideas and ask your Q's right here.

Moderator: Erin from Sikes

#1393959 by Sharon from Maple Springs
Thu Mar 08, 2018 9:24 pm

This post has both a question and suggestion.

I’m updating pages with Pinterest images. As I’m adding these images and also adding the pin button, description, and title text, I thought I’d review page titles and descriptions as well. (They need to be reviewed anyway, I'm not very good at creative descriptions)

If I’m understanding correctly Pinterest sometimes uses the pin button description, and sometimes uses the page description. Sooooo I decided to use the same text in both. So they are both Pinterest and Google friendly. (Does that make sense?)

Then I also use the same text for the page title and the Pinterest image title.

(My question is this.) Am I understanding correctly how Pinterest pulls it’s descriptions when people share?

This is my formula I’m using for the descriptions and titles of both page and Pinterest image.

description for both the page and pinterest image will be:

up to 250 characters
    Start with keyword
    include some type of call to action or verbiage that gets the click.
    Include my site name [Domain Private]

title for both the page and the pinterest image will be:
    up to 70 characters
    include keyword first

I think these parameters fall into what is required for both Google and Pinterest.

(here’s my suggestion) I’m also creating a spreadsheet with these titles and descriptions. A swipe file with this text already prepared will save me time. No thinking, just copy/paste text that has already been thought through. I can use these for my newsletter, and/or social sharing.