This is the place to introduce yourself. Solo Build It! owners ("SBIers") cover the globe. Let us know a bit about your special corner of the world, about you and your solopreneur plans.

Moderators: Maria from Agness, Diane Marie from

#74049 by Tony from Paint Lick
Tue Sep 27, 2005 9:21 pm
Hello Everyone,

I've been 'lurking' long enough, time to contribute.

This post is a combination of an introduction and a kudo to SiteSell. I realize I should probably split the post up into two: one for each category 'Hi I'm from...' and 'Kudos', but as you'll see, one leads into the other, so I'll put it here.

By day, I am a scientist (specifically, I work in solar physics). Among other things (to what's relevant here), I have been involved in many aspects of producing web content, both large and small, for quite some time (15 years). Most notably, I've designed web sites that serve large quantities of solar data, process user requests for many data products, query databases, provide public education outreach to the community, and serve information to the scientific community. These efforts required that I become proficient in all aspects of web programming, design, user interfaces, and implementation including PERL cgi scripting, SQL database design, yada yada blah blah...

Admittedly, all my experience has been in the scientific and educational categories of the internet (as opposed the commercial uses), but they are rather sophisticated uses and require 'leading edge' technologies to implement. Well, that's enough of my resume, moving on...

I know it sounds like I'm bragging and I really don't mean to, but I wanted to let you know that I'm coming from an 'expert webmaster' point of view to say: that in spite of the fact that I feel I can make websites do whatever I want them to do, I still chose SBI.